Pasta, Lamb, Green Beans & Peas
After a long day of visiting with downtown Petaluma with my mom when she was visiting, I threw this together. To be honest, I had to adjust the flavors a lot, since I didn’t quite get the flavors right the first time. I was so tired, I forgot to taste the dish as I was adding in ingredients and cooking them; I was kind of just throwing things in the pan. I’m glad I was able to fix the flavors pretty easily though.

I used the locally made lamb sausage from Own Family Farm that I bought at the Sebastopol Farmer’s Market. Thankfully this farm used to also sell their meats at the Santa Rosa Farmer’s Market twice a month when the market was still located at the Veterans’ Memorial Building parking lot, but that was before I moved to Petaluma.

Since then, the market has relocated to the Santa Rosa Wells Fargo Center, which is practically in Windsor. The Redwood Empire Farmer’s Market has moved into the Veterans’ Memorial Building lot (with lots of contention and controversy). I have not had a chance to go back yet. Does anyone gone back to the Veterans’ Memorial Building farmers market since Redwood Empire moved in? The “Original Santa Rosa Farmers Market” is having their grand opening at the Wells Fargo Center on June 30th. I’m interested in checking it out, but it’s located rather far away from me know. Thankfully, Petaluma, Cotati and Rohnert Park have summer farmers markets, which are all much much closer; here is a current list of all of the Sonoma County farmers markets.

Rice Pasta Shells with Lamb Sausage, Green Beans & Peas
Serves 8 to 10

Ingredients
Extra Virgin Olive Oil or Grape Seed Oil Cooking Spray
1 – 1 1/2 lb Moroccan-Spiced Lamb Sausage, sliced or casings removed
5 – 6 T Chopped or Minced Garlic
1/2 Medium White or Yellow Onion, finely chopped
1/4 – 1/2 tsp Mixed Peppercorns, fresh ground
1/4 tsp Ground Sweet or Smoked Spanish Paprika
2 tsp Cumin Seeds, toasted ground
Filtered Water
Pinch Sea Salt
4 Celery Stalks, trimmed, chopped
2 C Fresh or Frozen Green Peas
2 C Fresh or Frozen Green Beans, cut into bite size pieces
1/4 tsp Poultry Seasoning
OR 1/4 tsp Italian Seasoning
OR 1/4 tsp Moroccan Seasoning
1 T Dried Parsley
1 pkg Small Rice Pasta Shells
3 Scallions, trimmed, sliced
1/2 – 2/3 C Raw Almonds, soaked, dehydrated
Daiya Mozzarella Cheese Shreds, optional garnish

Directions
Cook the pasta according to the package directions until they are al dente. Drain and rise. Set aside.

Brown the sausage over medium heat in a lightly oiled pan over medium-low heat. Saute with the garlic, onion, pepper and paprika until the onions are translucent. Pour in the water and vegetables for three minutes, stirring occasionally. Mix in the herbs. Cook the mixture until the vegetables are tender-crisp. Stir in the noodles, cooking until the noodles are soft. Remove the pan from the heat.

Transfer the mixture to a cool serving bowl. Stir in the almonds and scallions with a large wooden spoon. Season with pepper and salt to your preference. Sprinkle on the cheese. Serve with a green side salad.