I made this with my mom when I was down in Modesto, visiting my family recently. I spotted the new Sunset Best Recipes issue and was instantly drawn in by the delicious looking cover. I am already subscribed to their “Living in the West” series of the magazine. I picked it up and started thumbing through it with my mom while we were waiting in line. The recipes all looked really good, so I told her, “If you aren’t going to buy this, I will.” Needless to say, she bought it for me. (Thanks, Mom!) The while in line still, I decided to make the Greek-inspired pasta dish, which was originally with chicken and not nearly as flavorful.

Yes, I know bamboo shoots are not Greek, but they taste good and also sounded good at the time. The magazine called for only one garlic clive, but since I was making the dish within the Wharton household, my dad peeled and minced eight for me. What can I say? We love garlic. Originally the recipe called for feta cheese, but I left it out due to my allergy and intolerance. Once plated, my mom added Parmesan, which smelled fantastic will all of the other flavors. At home I have Daiya mozzarella vegan shredded cheese, and I’m pretty sure it would taste great on the pasta, too.

Greek Turkey Pasta Adapted from Sunset, May 2011; Sunset Best Recipes, 2012
Serves 4 to 6

Ingredients
6 oz Brown Rice Spaghetti Pasta
1 1/4 lb Turkey, ground
1 Batch Greek Seasoning (see below)
1-3 T Extra Virgin Olive Oil
1 C Red Onion, peeled, chopped
8 Garlic Cloves, minced
1/2 C Pinot Grigio or Other Dry White Wine
1 C Kalamata Olives, pitted, vertically sliced
1 C or 13 oz Marinated Artichokes, chopped, marinade reserved
2 8-oz Cans Bamboo Shoots
1 C or 4 1/2 oz Pine Nuts, roasted
1/2 tsp Kosher Salt
1/2 tsp Black Peppercorns, ground
8-12 oz Baby Spinach
3 oz Parma! Vegan Parmesan or Parmesan Cheese, grated, optional
OR 3 oz Feta Cheese, crumbled
OR 3 oz Daiya Mozzarella Style Shreds

Directions
Cook the pasta according to the package. Mix the meat and Greek seasonings. In a very large saute pan, heat the oil over medium heat. Cook the onions and garlic in the oil until the onions are tender, about 5 minutes. Stir in the wine, olives, artichokes, reserved marinade, bamboo, nuts, pepper and salt, and continue to cook the turkey and vegetables 4 minutes. (I kept ours separate, since we had two different types of pasta available. We mixed ours together on the plate.) Drain and rinse the pasta with hot water, and return it to the pot. Cover the pasta to reduce cooling. Remove the meat-vegetable mixture from the heat, and stir in the spinach and pasta. Plate the pasta, and garnish it with cheese if desired.

The Sunset magazine version of the recipe doesn’t call for the Greek seasonings, but I thought the pasta needed an extra something. The herb mixture below is something that I just could not pass up on. I liked it so much I made a whole jarful for my parents. Thankfully I found an extra glass spice jar as I was going through their herb and spice collection.

Greek Seasonings Mix Adapted from the Taste of Home Test Kitchen recipe
Ingredients
1 1/2 tsp Dried Oregano
1 tsp Dried Thyme
1/2 tsp Dried Basil
1/2 tsp Dried Marjoram
1/2 tsp Onion Powder
1/2 tsp Coarse Garlic Powder

Directions
In a small bowl, combine all ingredients with a fork. Store in an airtight glass jar in a cool dark dry place for up to 6 months.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

