This recipe comes from Sam Chesley.  It might have been from Thanksgiving, or just some tasty dinner.  Either way, it is now a regular guest at my house.

Get a nicely shaped butternut squash.  The fewer contours the better, since you are going to have to peel it.

Image Source

I cut it into discs before trying to hack off the skin with a big ol’ knife.  Scoop out the seeds.  Roast and eat them if you are Noel (probably, I’m just guessing, but she’s into that sort of thing).

Cube your peeled squash into about 1 inch chunks.

Toss in a bowl with minced garlic (as much as you like.  I like a lot of garlic), oregano, salt, freshly ground pepper if you are as cool as I am ;), and olive oil.  Or just mix it up in the casserole dish to save on washing.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Put in a casserole dish and bake at 350 for about an hour.  Stir it all up about halfway through.  The pieces will be nice and soft and your house will smell great (like garlic).

Butternut Squash is pretty darn good for you.  Its full of anti-oxidants, Vitamin A, B-Complex Vitamins, and fiber, with no fat.  Its cheap at the grocery store or farmer’s market and if you really don’t want to cut it up, it is available in the freezer section of most stores already cubed for you.   You have no excuses to not eat this tasty, tasty squash.

How do you like your squash?  Do you have a favorite type of squash?  I’ll admit, I’ve never cooked spaghetti squash or acorn squash.  The former you can do a weird fork thing to split it into “noodles” and acorn squash is good cut in half and roasted with cinnamon and maybe raisins… its been awhile since I’ve had it and my memory is a bit vague on that one.  Any suggestions for me to try it?

