Even more basic than pepper, I love my new massive wooden spoon.

My husband and I got it from some dear friends for part of a wedding gift.  I don’t think it was on our registry, but Andrew knows I love to cook (we were room mates years and years ago, so he’s seen and tasted first hand).  With the spoon came cookie sheets, some darling measuring spoons (since I can’t have too many), and a lovely handwritten recipe for cookies.

I use this spoon all the time.  When it comes time to bake, I haven’t usually thought to take out butter ahead of time.  I try to microwave it just a bit, but its still usually hard.  This mighty spoon does the trick.  The thick handle is so easy to get a great grip on.  There is nothing flimsy about this spoon.  I can really beat the heck out of whatever it is that I need to mix up.  Its also nice for mixing up my pasta salad stuff, since it has a nice big part that isn’t the handle.  I have no idea if there is a specific name for the “bowl” end of a spoon.  Do you know?

Anyways, having a great utensil makes cooking that much easier and more enjoyable.  Do you have spoons or spatulas that need replacing?  Knives that need sharpening?  Wooden cutting boards that need a wipe of mineral oil?  Take a look at your tools and make sure they are in great working order for your next cooking adventure.

What’s your favorite cooking tool?

