As you probably read, I’m working on eating more slowly.  I want to chew, taste, and enjoy my food.  In the process I’ll be eating less food since I can be listening to the signals my body has for being “full” or even “not hungry” and I won’t feel as strong of a need to eat more simply because something is delicious.  I will have already gotten twice as much deliciousness out of it the first time.

In doing this I have learned a few things:

1.  I don’t like oatmeal enough to chew, chew, chew and taste it for that long.

2.  I can’t eat food as lava hot as I used to.  It is too hot if its in my mouth for that long.

3.  I can get bored of eating when I really pay attention.  Funny, since a lot of people eat when they are bored.

4.  Eating with a knife and fork makes it MUCH easier to eat slowly.  A burrito in my hands is gone faster.

5.  I try to always ask myself, “Can I cut this bite in half?”  The answer is usually, “Yes”.

 

I have lost a couple of pounds since starting this reformation of a lifelong habit.  Even if I don’t lose any weight and I eat the same amount of food I used to, eating it more slowly, more chewed, and over longer periods of time is much better for me and my digestion.  I can really revel in my In’N’Out double double with this new approach.  And man, do I LOVE In’N’Out Burger.

