Baked corn and bacon pudding rocked my world!  Fulling, warm, bacony, and with garlic.  So many things I love.  This recipe is from Raley’s Something Extra.  I don’t even shop there anymore, but I picked up their free magazine the other day because it always has a great recipe or two in it.  I am posting my slightly altered version, since thats what I ate.

 

Baked Corn and Bacon Pudding

Cook: 30 minutes (I gave it an hour, but my oven runs cooler)

Serves: 8

 

6 strips of bacon

1 large onion, chopped

4 cloves of garlic, chopped

6 tbsp. whole wheat flour

3 cups of milk

4 eggs

6 tbsp. cornmeal

1/2 cup shredded parmesan cheese

3 cups corn kernals ( two cans, drained)

1 1/2 tsp. sugar

Salt and pepper to taste

 

1. Preheat oven to 400 F and lightly butter a 9×13 dish.

2. Cut up bacon and fry until delicious.  Drain on a paper towel.  Pour out most of the grease.

3. Sauté onion and garlic for about 5 minutes, until delicious.  Add the flour for about another minute.

4. Transfer to a large bowl and whisk in milk, then eggs, and cornmeal. Stir in remaining ingredients.  Pour into the baking dish and bake 30 minutes or until the center is set.

